We drive change

The logport concept: From an industrial wasteland to one of Europe’s leading logistics locations – a success story on 371 football fields.

Coal and steel departed – duisport arrived. In 1998, a new era began in Duisburg at the former Krupp steelworks, a site in Duisburg-Rheinhausen spanning 265 hectares (roughly the size of 371 football fields). The idea to reutilize brownfield sites, redevelop spaces and establish multimodal logistics centers began to take shape with logport I. The concept became a unique success story: International logistics providers moved in and duisport developed into one of Europe’s most important logistics hubs. Today it is the flagship for North-Rhine Westphalia as a logistics location.

The quality of the available transport connections and port facilities were enough to be able to convince logistics-oriented companies, in particular. The expansion of the old Krupp factory port, the erection of the Duisburg Intermodal Terminal (DIT), the Duisburg Trimodal Terminal (D3T) and the Duisburg Multi-Purpose Terminal (DKT), and the construction of the secondary railway station proved to be an important foundation for duisport.

logport – an attractive location for big players in the logistics industry

Kühne und Nagel bei duisport

The fact that the locational advantages at the intersection of the Rhine and the Ruhr could now be exploited, increased the appeal of the entire region. Companies from a wide variety of sectors became increasingly interested in Duisburg as a logistics hub.

Today, around 50 companies base their operations from the logport I logistics area, including leading logistics companies such as Kühne + Nagel, DB Schenker, DHL and NYK / Yusen Logistics. In addition to three intermodal terminals, there are around 650,000 m² of warehouse space here, including more than a half dozen European distribution centers for companies such as Danone Waters, Hewlett Packard, Johnson & Johnson and Siemens. Over 5,000 direct jobs have been created here since 1999.


“duisport is an important job engine for the city and the region. Over 1,000 new jobs will be created in the near future.

2016, quote: Erich Staake
Chief Executive Officer
Duisburger Hafen AG

National and International network

Wir gestalten den Wandel

Das logport-Konzept: Von Industriebrachen zu einem der führenden Logistikstandorte Europas – eine Erfolgsgeschichte auf 371 Fußballfeldern!

Kohle und Stahl gingen – duisport kam. Mit dem 265 ha, also etwa 371 Fußballfelder großen Gelände des stillgelegten Krupp-Stahlwerks in Duisburg-Rheinhausen, begann 1998 in Duisburg eine neue Ära: Die Idee, Industriebrachen neu zu nutzen, die Flächen zu sanieren und als multimodale Logistikzentren zu etablieren, nahm mit logport I konkrete Formen an. Das Konzept wurde zu einer einzigartigen Erfolgsgeschichte: International operierenden Logistikdienstleister siedelten sich an, duisport entwickelte sich zu einer bedeutenden europäischen Logistikdrehscheibe und ist heute prominentes Aushängeschild für den Logistikstandort Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Die Qualität der verfügbaren Verkehrsanschlüsse und Hafeneinrichtungen konnte insbesondere logistikorientierte Unternehmen überzeugen. Wichtige Basis dafür waren der Ausbau des alten Krupp-Werkshafens, die Errichtung des Duisburg Intermodal Terminals (DIT), des Duisburg Trimodal Terminals (D3T) und des Duisburg Kombiterminals (DKT) und der Bau des Vorbahnhofs.

logport – attraktiver Standort für die Großen der Logistikbranche

Kühne und Nagel bei duisport

Dass die Standortvorteile an der Schnittstelle von Rhein und Ruhr nun auch genutzt werden konnten, steigerte die Attraktivität der gesamten Region. Unternehmen verschiedenster Bereiche interessieren sich immer stärker für Duisburg als Logistikdrehscheibe.

Heute sind auf dem logport I-Logistikareal rund 50 Unternehmen angesiedelt, darunter führende Logistikunternehmen wie Kühne + Nagel, DB Schenker, DHL oder NYK / Yusen Logistics. Neben drei intermodalen Terminals gibt es rund 650.000 m² Hallenfläche am Standort, darunter mehr als ein halbes Dutzend europäischer Distributionszentren für Firmen wie Danone Waters, Hewlett Packard, Johnson & Johnson oder Siemens. Seit 1999 sind hier über 5.000 direkte Arbeitsplätze entstanden.


„duisport ist der Jobmotor in der Stadt und der Region. In naher Zukunft entstehen über 1.000 neue Arbeitsplätze.

2016, Zitat: Erich Staake
Vorsitzender des Vorstandes
der Duisburger Hafen AG

Netzwerkkarte