So that everything flows – Integrated Truck Guidance

The traffic management system: An ideal foundation for the optimization and harmonization of multimodal transport carriers for the hubs of the future

The worldwide growth of cargo flows presents huge challenges to transport hubs such as ports, airports or freight terminals. Hubs have to be more high-performance and remain accessible, even if the capacities of the routes in the hinterland are limited and expansions are only conditionally possible. The ramifications: existing infrastructures must be used more efficiently.

In order to increase efficiency at logistic nodes, foremost the faster processing of trucks offers large potential: Unnecessary waiting times with long jams at peak times can be avoided and comprehensive transparency of the current traffic situation in and on the hubs clears bottlenecks out of the way.

Here a new, intelligent traffic management system creates new capacities!

Everything in sight

After the truck driver has logged into the system via a Smartphone App, his/her position is determined via GPS. Drivers, logistics service providers and terminal operators recognize at a glance whether the planned arrival time agrees with the predicted one. If this is the case, the driver can continue on the planned route. A smooth workflow is ensured.

And also if delays occur logistics service providers and terminal operators can reschedule based on that information. The truck driver receives the next possible slot, which would prevent jams and reduce waiting times. If a new slot is not immediately available and last minute waiting times occur, the driver is automatically informed via the App about available parking spots and can then continue on with a new target slot.

Information in flow

Step 1
Special cameras are set up at defined points and determine the travel time. The gathered information is put in anonymous form and forwarded via standardized interfaces to the centralized office.

Step 2
All information comes together at the centralized office. Here Siemens Sitraffic Concert software is implemented as the so-called Application Service Providing (ASP). This means that the required systems do not have to be installed at each one’s computer. Connection is made from a highly secure Internet access.

Step 3
The processed transport information is fed back to the truck driver via a Smartphone App and dynamic LED displays.

Step 4
Information about the traffic situation and on travel times is made available to freight forwarders and terminals via the Sitraffic web portal.

Logistics processes can be even more efficiently designed in the future through this intelligent inbound control. Also the integration of IT systems will be pursued in order to improve traffic flow. For truck drivers. For freight forwarders. For logistics service providers. For hub operators.

Current status of the project:

The systems for traffic flow collection and dynamic information signs in the areas of logport and Ruhrort are installed – the pilot operation is running. Driving time information on the information signs enable truck drivers to choose the optimum route. This first visible step is the beginning of implementation. The intelligent App is now running parallel in the final development phase and also is already being tested in pilot operation.

After a successful pilot phase the system should be expanded to other parts of the port. The basis for successful implementation of the project is the close and very good cooperation with the city of Duisburg and the state of NRW.
Since only transport information was collected and no photos were taken of individuals, privacy was maintained at all times.

More Information

Determination of travel time

Logport Leitsystem

The road network between Duisburg-Ruhrort and logport I (Duisburg-Rheinhausen) is included in the traffic management system. With this travel times on alternative routes are recorded and transmitted via information boards to the truck drivers. Thus truck drivers receive at all times a current decision basis for the most favorable route to logport I or to the Ruhrort port area.

Travel times on sections of the route can be precisely determined by the recognition of vehicle signatures between two cameras. The vehicle signatures are recorded with the aid of ANPR cameras (ANPR = Automatic Number Plate Recognition.


Data Privacy

The valid privacy regulations (BDSG § 6b) are used in the scope of the use of video surveillance technology. Notifications signs refer to the surveillance.

To reliably ensure privacy, already in the first step of data processing, after recognition the license plate numbers are converted directly into an anonymous character chain inside the camera. No image data is saved or forwarded.
The conversion of the character string is made together with the Salt using a Hash algorithm. The result is reduced to 18 bits. This achieves an ambiguity of the results. Tracing is thus excluded, since a clear assignment of the vehicle signature to the license plate is no longer possible.

Along with the previously described action there is also a technical restriction to exclude the recognition of persons. For this reason a filter in the range of 850nm is used for all infrared cameras. In this way neither the number nor the appearance of the occupants of a vehicle can be detected.

Damit alles fließt – Integrated Truck Guidance

Das Verkehrsleitsystem: Ideale Grundlage zur Optimierung und Harmonisierung multimodaler Verkehrsträger für die Hubs der Zukunft.

Das weltweite Wachstum von Warenströmen stellt Verkehrsknotenpunkte wie Häfen, Flughäfen oder Güterterminals vor große Herausforderungen. Hubs müssen leistungsfähiger werden und erreichbar bleiben, auch wenn die Kapazitäten der Verkehrswege im Hinterland begrenzt ist und Erweiterungen nur bedingt möglich sind. Die Konsequenz: Vorhandene Infrastrukturen müssen effizienter genutzt werden.

Um die Effizienz an Logistikknotenpunkten zu steigern, bietet vor allem die schnellere Abfertigung der Lkws große Potenziale: Unnötige Wartezeiten mit langen Staus zu Stoßzeiten können vermieden werden und eine umfassende Transparenz über die aktuelle Verkehrslage in und an den Hubs räumt Engpässe aus dem Weg.

Hier schafft ein neues, intelligentes Verkehrsleitsystem neue Kapazitäten!

Alles im Blick

Nachdem der Lkw-Fahrer sich über eine Smartphone-App im System angemeldet hat, wird via GPS seine Position ermittelt. Fahrer, Logistikdienstleister und Terminalbetreiber erkennen auf einen Blick, ob geplante und voraussichtliche Ankunftszeit übereinstimmen. Ist das der Fall, kann der Fahrer seine geplante Route fortsetzen. Ein reibungsloser Ablauf ist sichergestellt.

Doch auch, wenn es zu Verzögerungen kommt, können Logistikdienstleister und Terminalbetreiber auf Grundlage der Information umdisponieren: Der Lkw-Fahrer erhält den nächsten möglichen Slot. So werden Staus vermieden und Wartezeiten reduziert. Sofern ein neuer Slot nicht sofort zur Verfügung steht und es zu kurzfristigen Wartezeiten kommt, wird der Fahrer über die App automatisch über vorhandene Parkplätze informiert und kann mit einem neuen Ziel-Slot seine Fahrt fortsetzen.

Durch diese intelligente Zulaufsteuerung lassen sich Logistikprozesse in Zukunft noch effizienter gestalten. Zudem wird die Integration von IT-Systemen vorangetrieben, um den Verkehrsfluss zu verbessern. Für Lkw-Fahrer. Für Spediteure. Für Logistikdienstleister. Für Hub-Betreiber.

Aktueller Stand des Projektes:

Die Systeme zur Verkehrserfassung und dynamische Hinweisschilder in den Bereichen logport und Ruhrort sind montiert – es läuft der Pilotbetrieb. Fahrzeitinformationen auf den Hinweisschildern ermöglichen den Lkw-Fahrern, die optimale Route zu wählen. Dieser erste sichtbare Schritt ist der Anfang der Realisierung. Die intelligente App befindet sich parallel in der finalen Entwicklungsphase und wird ebenfalls schon im Pilotbetrieb getestet.

Nach erfolgreicher Pilotphase soll das System auf weitere Hafenteile ausgeweitet werden. Grundlage für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung des Projektes ist die enge und sehr gute Kooperation mit der Stadt Duisburg und dem Land NRW.

Da lediglich Verkehrsinformationen erfasst und keine Aufnahmen von Personen gemacht werden, wird der Datenschutz zu jeder Zeit eingehalten.

Weitere Informationen

Reisezeitermittlung

In das Verkehrsleitsystem ist das Straßennetz zwischen Duisburg-Ruhrort und logport I (Duisburg-Rheinhausen) einbezogen. Hierbei werden die Reisezeiten auf Alternativrouten erfasst und über Informationstafeln an die Lkw-Fahrer übermittelt. So erhalten die Lkw-Fahrer jederzeit eine aktuelle Entscheidungsgrundlage für die günstigste Route zum logport I bzw. zum Hafenbereich Ruhrort.

Durch die Wiedererkennung von Fahrzeug-Signaturen zwischen zwei Kameras kann die Reisezeit auf den Streckenabschnitten präzise ermittelt werden. Die Fahrzeugsignaturen werden mit Hilfe von ANPR-Kameras (ANPR = Automatic Number Plate Recognition/ automatischen Kennzeichenerfassung) erfasst.


Datenschutz

Es kommen die im Rahmen einer Verwendung von Videobeobachtungstechnologie geltenden Datenschutzvorschriften (BDSG § 6b) zur Anwendung. Auf die Erhebung wird mittels Hinweisschild hingewiesen.

Um den Datenschutz sicher zu gewährleisten, wird das Kennzeichen bereits im ersten Schritt der Datenverarbeitung direkt nach der Erkennung innerhalb der Kamera in eine anonymisierte Zeichenkette umgewandelt. Es werden keine Bild-Daten gespeichert oder weitergeleitet.

Die Umwandlung des Zeichenstrings erfolgt zusammen mit dem Salt mittels eines Hash-Algorithmus. Das Ergebnis wird auf 18 Bit reduziert. Dadurch wird eine Mehrdeutigkeit der Ergebnisse erzielt. Eine Rückverfolgung ist damit ausgeschlossen, da eine eindeutige Zuordnung der Fahrzeugsignatur zu Kennzeichen nicht mehr möglich ist.

Neben der vorher beschriebenen Tatsache liegt auch noch eine technische Restriktion vor, um das Erkennen von Personen auszuschließen. Deshalb wird bei allen Infrarotkameras ein Filter im 850nm-Bereich verwendet. So können weder die Anzahl noch das Aussehen der Insassen eines Fahrzeugs erkannt werden.